Arts & Culture Poetry
30th Street Station Thom Carroll/PhillyVoice

Travelers inside 30th Street Station in University City.

April 05, 2017

30th Street Station commuters will be treated to live poetry readings

The Outbound Poetry Festival will take place over 11 days

Beginning April 10, commuters through 30th Street Station will be treated to 11 days of live poetry readings from East Coast poets.

Through April 21, the Outbound Poetry Festival will take place in 30th Street’s South Waiting Room every weekday afternoon at 4:52 p.m. On Saturday, April 15, there will be a mix of acoustic music and poetry at 2:35 p.m.

Curated by Yolanda Wisher, the City of Philadelphia’s poet laureate, the readings will celebrate the diversity of the City of Brotherly Love.

Wisher will perform on Friday, April 21.

NoneSource/ Ryan Collerd

A photo of poet Yolanda Wisher from 2015.


As for the rest of the lineup, these are the poets who will perform during the weekdays:

Monday, April 10 – The Twin Poets
Tuesday, April 11 – Greg Corbin
Wednesday, April 12 – Michelle Myers
Thursday, April 13 – Tim Seibles
Friday, April 14 – Frank Sherlock
Monday, April 17 – Denice Frohman
Tuesday, April 18 – Jacob Winterstein
Wednesday, April 19 – Otter Jung-Allen
Thursday, April 20 – Ursula Rucker 

All readings are free to attend. April is National Poetry Month.


Outbound Poetry Festival

Monday, April 10 through Friday, April 21
4:52 p.m. | Free
30th Street Station