June 14, 2016

Parents, listen up: New car seat laws in Pennsylvania

It's all about the position of the child seat

Pennsylvania Governor Tom Wolf has signed into law a new rule requiring parents and guardians to secure children under the age of 2 in rear-facing car seats while driving.

The law was signed Monday and goes into effect in 60 days, The Morning Call reports. 

RELATED: New Jersey car seat law changes go into effect Sept. 1

Under the current law, children were mandated to be in a car seat following the weight and age requirements of the seat manufacture, but it didn’t indicate which direction the seat had to be positioned.

Violators of the law face fines of up to $125 per offense, the Morning Call reports. However, there will be a one-year grace period when a verbal warning will be issued instead of a fine.

Read more at The Morning Call.