February 17, 2017
You can't buy a pack of cigarettes until you're old enough for a drink in Trenton, its city council decided Thursday night.
The new change will go into effect next month, the Associated Press reported Friday. Previously, the age limit was set at 19 years old, New Jersey's statewide age limit.
Though, Trenton will now be joining 21 other towns in the Garden State that has the higher age limit of 21.
Stores that are caught selling tobacco products – from cigarettes to cigars – could be imposed with a fine falling anywhere between $250 to $1,000, NJ.com reported.
Pennsylvania's age limit to buy tobacco products is 18 years old.