More News:

December 06, 2016

Read the fine print: Latest Uber update tracks users after ride ends

Technology Uber
05212016_Uber_driver_TC Thom Carroll, File/PhillyVoice

Uber.

Uber’s latest app update includes a function for tracking users for several minutes after a ride has ended, even when the app isn’t open or active.

The purpose of the extended tracking, according to TechCrunch, is to collect data to be used for improvement, such as to track how often riders have to cross the street after being dropped off, and thus, to improve user safety.

App users will notice the tracking change as of the most recent Nov. 24 update. 

While the change is transparent, and there is a way to opt out of the extended tracking, some users feel their privacy is at risk.



Escapes

Limited - Australia

$8350 -- Australia's Islands: 10-Night Curated Trip

Limited - Australia

$2907 -- 8-Night Foodie Trip: Sydney & Melbourne

Limited - Myrtle Beach

$75 & Up -- Myrtle Beach Resort w/Newly-Renovated Rooms & Breakfast

Listed by
Some taxes, fees additional.