Movies Screenings
movies iStock_Oles/iStock

Friends enjoy a movie together.

May 16, 2017

Where to watch outdoor movies for free this summer

Catch screenings of 'Hidden Figures,' 'La La Land,' 'Moana,' more

This summer, there's no need to spend $15 (or more) to catch a movie in Philly. There are tons of free outdoor movies scheduled from May through September.

These 2017 summer movie series include a mix of classics, recent releases, family-friendly favorites and Oscar-winners.

Movie Nights at The Schmidt's Commons

Sit back and enjoy a movie in Northern Liberties. Just remember to bring your own chair.

Thursday, May 18 at 7 p.m. - "Hidden Figures"
Thursday, May 25 at 7 p.m. - "Sister Act"
Thursday, June 1 at 8 p.m. - "The Big Lebowski"
Thursday, June 8 at 7 p.m. - "Star Wars: Rogue One"
Thursday, June 15 at 7 p.m. - "Moana"
Thursday, June 22 at 7 p.m. - "Newsies"


Louis Bluver Summer Movie Series

Head to 140 N. Christopher Columbus Boulevard for a free outdoor movie series outside Fringe Arts. This year's series was curated by film scholar Catherine Haas.

Food and drink will be available for purchase from La Peg.

Wednesday, May 31 at 8 p.m. - "Caddyshack"
Wednesday, June 6 at 8 p.m. - "Ghostbusters"
Wednesday, June 14 at 8 p.m. - "Dazed and Confused"
Wednesday, June 21 at 8 p.m. - "Jurassic Park" 
Wednesday, June 28 at 8 p.m. - "E.T. the Extraterrestrial"
Wednesday, July 5 at 8 p.m. - "Back to the Future"
Wednesday, July 12 at 8 p.m. - "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade"
Wednesday, July 19 at 8 p.m. - "Friday"
Wednesday, July 26 at 8 p.m. - "Clueless"
Wednesday, Aug. 2 at 8 p.m. - Breakfast Club
Wednesday, Aug. 9 at 8 p.m. - "Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure" 
Wednesday, Aug. 16 at 8 p.m. - "Fifth Element"
Wednesday, Aug. 23 at 8 p.m. - "Independence Day"
Wednesday, Aug. 30 at 8 p.m. - "Weekend at Bernie’s"


Movie Nights on the Schuylkill Banks

The 2017 Movies on the Banks series, running from June 1 through Aug. 10, features six movies by the Walnut Street Bridge and four movies at the Wharton Street Esplanade at the Grays Ferry Crescent. 

Attendees should bring their own blankets or chairs and picnic to enjoy the films.

Thursday, June 1 at 8:30 p.m. - "Cat Ballou"
Thursday, June 8 at 8:30 p.m. - "Rear Window" (Wharton Street)
Thursday, June 15 at 8:30 p.m. - "Young Frankenstein"
Thursday, June 22 at 8:30 p.m. - "The Sandlot" (Wharton Street)
Thursday, June 29 at 8:30 p.m. - "Charade"
Thursday, July 13 at 8:30 p.m. - "The Big Lebowski"
Thursday, July 20 at 8:20 p.m. - "Finding Dory" (Wharton Street)
Thursday, July 27 at 8:20 p.m. - "Ratatouille"
Thursday, Aug. 3 at 8:15 p.m. - "Hidden Figures" (Wharton Street)
Thursday, Aug. 10 at 8 p.m. - "Jaws"


RELATED: Boardwalk-style rides and games coming to Blue Cross RiverRink Summerfest | Franklin Institute to open escape rooms


Movies in FDR Park

Thursday, June 22 at 9 p.m. - "The Sandlot"
Thursday, July 27 at 8:30 p.m. - "How to Train Your Dragon"
Thursday, Aug. 31 at 8 p.m. - "Finding Dory"
Friday, Oct. 20 at 7 p.m. - "E.T. the Extraterrestrial"


Moonlight Movies at Pleasant Playground

At 6:30 p.m., before the movie starts, there will be story time and a book swap. There will also be an art supply collection for Mt. Airy public schools.

Movies begin 15 minutes after sunset. Snacks can be purchased from food trucks on-site.

Friday, June 23 - "Jungle Book"
Friday, June 30 - "Dr. Seuss' The Lorax"
Friday, July 7 - "Queen of Katwe"
Friday, July 14 - "Moana"
Friday, July 21 - "Lion"
Friday, July 28 - "Zootopia"
Friday, Aug. 4 - "E.T. the Extraterrestrial"
Friday, Aug. 11 - "Finding Dory"


Moonlight Movies at Trolley Car Diner

Bring a blanket or beach chair for the movie. Ice cream, water ice and other snacks will be available for purchase from the Ice Cream Shoppe. Dinner to-go will be available from the diner.

All movies begin 15 minutes after sunset.

Saturday, June 24 - "Shrek"
Saturday, July 1 - "Hidden Figures"
Saturday, July 8 - "How to Train Your Dragon"
Saturday, July 15 - "WALL-E"
Saturday,  July 22 - "Bend It Like Beckham"
Saturday, July 29 - "Tangled"
Saturday, Aug. 5 - "Up"
Saturday, Aug. 12 - "Akeelah and the Bee"


RELATED: "La La Land" concert to be performed at Mann Center


Movies in the Park Program

Fairmount Park Conservancy and Philadelphia Parks & Recreation will host 27 free family-friendly movie nights in parks and playgrounds across the city this summer. Before the movies begin, there will be activities and music.

June 23 at 8:30 p.m. - "Ride Along 2" at Miles Mack Playground (732 N 36th St, 19104)
June 26 at 8:30 p.m. - "Sing" at Palmer Park (1701 Frankford Ave, 19125)
June 28 at 8:30 p.m. - "Secret Life of Pets" at Fotterall Square (2400 N 11th St, 19133)
July 7 at 8:30 p.m. - "Beauty and the Beast" (2017) at Overington Park (4600 Leiper St, 19124)
July 10 at 8:30 p.m. - "Moana" at Benson Park (1440 N 4th St, 19122)
July 12 at 8:30 p.m. - "Central Intelligence" at Woodside Park (3910 Conshohocken Ave, 19131)
July 17 at 8 p.m. - "Storks" at Campbell Square (2525 E Allegheny Ave, 19134)
July 19 at 8 p.m. - "Finding Dory" at Pleasant Hill Park (9201 N Delaware Ave, 19114)
July 21 at 8 p.m. - "Grease" at Roxborough Reservoir (601 Port Royal Ave, 19128)
July 24 at 8 p.m. - "Sing" at Coxe Park (2132 Cherry St, 19103)
July 26 at 8 p.m. - "Moana" at Penn Treaty Park (1201 Beach St, 19125)
July 31 at 8 p.m. - "The Jungle Book" at Triangle Park (5425 Upland Way, 19131)
Aug. 1 at 8 p.m. - TBD at Dickinson Square (1600 E Moyamensing Ave, 19148)
Aug. 1 at 8 p.m. - "Moana" at Marconi Plaza (S 13th & Bigler Sts, 19148)
Aug. 4 at 8 p.m. - "Central Intelligence" at Lemon Hill (Lemon Hill Dr, 19130)
Aug. 7 at 8 p.m. - "BFG" at Hart Park (1315 N 4th St, 19122)
Aug. 9 at 8 p.m. - "The LEGO Batman Movie" at Olney Recreation Center (100 E Godfrey Ave, 19120)
Aug. 14 at 8 p.m. - "Secret Life of Pets" at Hope Park (215 E Indiana Ave, 19134)
Aug. 16 at 8 p.m. - "Storks" at Inn Yard Park (4208 Ridge Ave, 19129)
Aug. 18 at 8 p.m. - "Finding Dory" at Rainbow de Colores (2312 N 5th St, 19133)
Aug. 21 at 8 p.m. - "Moana" at Mifflin Square (500 Wolf St, 19148)
Aug. 23 at 8 p.m. - "Central Intelligence" at Smith Playground (2200 S 24th St, 19145)
Sept. 8 at 7 p.m. - "Pete’s Dragon" at Starr Garden (600 Lombard St, 19147)
Sept. 15 at 7 p.m. - "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story" at Pennypack Park (8750 Pine Rd, 19111)
Sept. 22 at 7 p.m. - "Secret Life of Pets" at Shot Tower Playground (101 Carpenter St, 19147)
Oct. 13 at 7 p.m. - "Sing" at Powers Park (2987 Almond St, 19134)
Oct. 20 at 7 p.m. - "Moana" at Tacony Creek Park (531 E Olney Ave, 19120)


Movie Nights at Franklin Square

Bring a blanket and watch a movie on the Great Lawn. Games and pre-show activities start at 7 p.m., movies begins at 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 3 at 8:30 p.m. - "Sing"
Saturday, July 8 at 8:30 p.m. - "Secret Life of Pets"
Saturday, July 22 at 8:30 p.m. - "Ferris Bueller's Day Off"
Saturday, Aug. 5 at 8:30 p.m. - "Lego Batman"
Saturday, Aug. 19 at 8:30 p.m. - "Finding Dory"


Screenings Under the Stars at Penn's Landing

Head to the Great Plaza at Penn's Landing for free movie nights in July and August.

Thursday, July 6 at 8:30 p.m. - "Captain America: Civil War"
Thursday, July 13 at 8:30 p.m. - "Magnificent Seven"
Thursday, July 20 at 8:30 p.m.-  "Star Wars: Rogue One"
Thursday, July 27 at 8:30 p.m. - "Purple Rain"
Thursday, Aug. 3 at 8:30 p.m. - "La La Land"
Thursday, Aug. 10 at 8:30 p.m. - "Kong: Skull Island"
Thursday, Aug. 17 at 8:30 p.m. - "Beauty and the Beast"
Thursday, Aug. 24 at 8:30 p.m. - "The Lego Batman Movie"
Thursday, Aug. 31 at 8:30 p.m. - "Sing" 


Pictures in the Park

Dilworth Park will host outdoor movie nights through the summer.

Friday, July 21 at 8:30 p.m. - "Beauty and The Beast" (2017)
Friday, July 28 at 8:30 p.m. - "Central Intelligence"
Friday, Aug. 4 at 8:30 p.m. - "Jurassic World"
Friday, Aug. 11 at 8:30 p.m. - "Trainwreck" 
Friday, Aug. 18 at 8:30 p.m. - "Avengers Age of Ultron"
Friday, Aug. 25 at 8:30 p.m. - "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them"


Movies in Gorgas Park

Movies begin at dusk, unless otherwise noted.

Tuesday, Aug. 1 at 7 p.m. - "Zootopia"
Tuesday, Aug. 15 - "Finding Dory"
Tuesday, Aug. 29 - "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"


Movies in Clark Park

Audience members are invited to bring chairs or blankets for the films and can enjoy food and dessert offerings from a rotating list of vendors.

Friday, Aug. 4 at 8 p.m.- "E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial"
Friday, Aug. 11  at 8 p.m. - "La La Land"
Friday, Aug. 18 at 8 p.m. - "Hidden Figures"
Friday, Aug. 25 at 8 p.m. - "Moana"
Friday, Sept. 1 at 8 p.m. - "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them"

Check back for updates on more outdoor movie screenings as they are announced.