More News:

May 10, 2023

IBEW Local 98’s list of endorsed candidates in the PA primary election

Opinion Election

Content sponsored by IBEW-Native-050923-Election

2023 election results MICHAEL CANDELORI/for PhillyVoice

In Tuesday's election, two district seats in Philadelphia City Council are up for grabs. Voters also will choose judges for key positions in Pennsylvania's courts.

Elections matter. Elections have consequences, especially for those of us in the labor movement.

On Tuesday, May 16, it’s imperative that we all exercise our constitutional right to participate in Pennsylvania’s primary election and elect candidates for office at every level of government who have a proven record of support for labor’s issues and priorities.

To make the selection process easier for our union Brothers and Sisters in the Greater Philadelphia region, here are IBEW Local 98’s endorsed candidates:

Statewide Judicial Races

• Daniel McCaffery - Supreme Court
• Pat Dugan - Superior Court
• Timika Lane- Superior Court

City of Philadelphia

• Cherelle Parker - Mayor

In addition to also being endorsed by the Philadelphia Building Trades, Cherelle Parker has made public safety her # 1 priority and, as Mayor, will institute “tough on crime” policies that will put an end to the lawlessness in the city.

• Omar Sabir - City Commissioner
• Lisa Deeley - City Commissioner
• Christy Brady - City Controller
• Nina Ahmad - City Council At-Large
• James Harrity - City Council At-Large
• Katherine Gilmore-Richardson - City Council At-Large
• Isaiah Thomas - City Council At-Large
• Mark Squilla -1st District City Council
• Kenyatta Johnson - 2nd District City Council
• Jamie Gauthier - 3rd District City Council
• Curtis Jones - 4th District City Council
• Jeffrey Jay Young - 5th District City Council
• Mike Driscoll - 6th District City Council
• Cindy Bass - 8th District City Council
• Anthony Phillips - 9th District City Council
• Gary Masino - 10th District City Council

Philadelphia Judicial Candidates

 Natasha Taylor-Smith - Court of Common Pleas
• Brian McLaughlin - Court of Common Pleas
• Will Braverman - Court of Common Pleas
• Chesley Lightsley - Court of Common Pleas
• John Padova - Court of Common Pleas
• Colleen McIntyre Osborne - Municipal Court

Montgomery County Races

 Jamila Winder - County Commissioner
• Kim Koch - County Commissioner
• Tina Lawson - Register of Wills

Bucks County Races

 Diane Marseglia - County Commissioner
• Bob Harvie - County Commissioner
• Gene DiGiralamo (R) - Commissioner

This is IBEW Local 98’s 2023 slate of endorsed candidates. Please help these union-friendly candidates get elected on Tuesday, May 16 by voting for them and encouraging your friends, neighbors and family members to do the same!