More Sports:

February 04, 2017

Brian Dawkins and Terrell Owens snubbed in Hall of Fame vote in favor of a freaking kicker

Eagles NFL

Former Philadelphia Eagles players Brian Dawkins and Terrell Owens were among 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Neither got in.

Dawkins is pretty safely one of the top five safeties in the history of the NFL, and arguably in the top three. Here's how he compares with other safeties of his era, in alphabetical order.

Player (yrs) Tackles Sacks FF-FR INT 
 Brian Dawkins (16)1131 26 37-16 37 
 Rodney Harrison (15)1198 30.5 16-6 34 
 John Lynch (15)1051 13 16-8 26 
 Troy Polamalu (12)771 12 14-7 32 
 Ed Reed (13)644 11-10 64 

Among those five safeties, Dawkins was second in tackles, second in sacks, first by a mile in forced fumbles, first in fumble recoveries, and second in interceptions, but way behind Ed Reed in the interception department.

Meanwhile, Terrell Owens is second all time in receiving yards, eighth all time in receptions, and third all time in receiving touchdowns.


Dawkins and Owens were apparently not worthy of Hall of Fame induction, according to the absolutely unqualified jackasses who did not vote them in.

But you know who DID get in? Former Saints/Falcons/Giants/Chiefs/Vikings kicker Morten Andersen! Over his career, playing 22 seasons in a dome, Andersen connected on 79.7 percent of his field goal attempts, which is lower than that of current Eagles kicker Caleb Sturgis. In fact, if Andersen played in 2016 and maintained his career average, he would have been the 23rd most accurate kicker in the league last season.

But let's put him in the Hall of Fame over Brian Dawkins and Terrell Owens because, uhhh... why? He's been waiting a while to get in? That's insanely idiotic logic. 

The buffoons who voted for Morten freaking Andersen over Brian Dawkins and Terrell Owens should not have a vote.

Follow Jimmy on Twitter: @JimmyKempski

Like Jimmy on Facebook.