More News:

February 14, 2017

Philadelphia appoints 23 members of new Commission on LGBT Affairs

LGBT Government
02142017_LGBT_commission ./.

Among the 23 appointees of the Mayoral Commission on LGBT Affairs are: clockwise from top left, Libby Peters, Anthony Leon, Yoshiaki Yamasaki, Heath Fogg Davis, Malcolm Kenyatta, Stephanie Haynes, Sharron Cooks and Jeffrey Jordan.

The 23 members of the new Philadelphia Mayoral Commission on LGBT Affairs, announced Tuesday, will have input on city policies to support the lives of LGBT people in the city and support the Office of LGBT Affairs in its work.

“Philadelphia values and promotes diversity and the contributions of our LGBT community,” said Mayor Jim Kenney in a statement. “I appreciate the commitment of these stellar individuals to serve on the LGBT Commission, and I believe the city will benefit from their rich and varied perspectives.”

The members, chosen after a rigorous application and review process led by the city's Office of Diversity & Inclusion, the Office of LGBT Affairs and the Mayor’s Office, reflect the diversity of the LGBT community, the statement said. That diversity includes transgender, gay, lesbian, bisexual, and queer communities, as well as ethnicity, religion, race, gender, disability, profession, citizenship status, socioeconomic status, geography, housing status and age.

EXCLUSIVE: Nellie Fitzpatrick tells why she was forced out at Philly LGBT office

“I am overjoyed and honored to work with the newly appointed Commission on LGBT Affairs. These 23 individuals represent some of the greatest, most dynamic minds of our community and I am grateful for their steadfast commitment to Philadelphia’s LGBTQ population,” said Amber Hikes, the new LGBT affairs director, in a statement. “I look forward to serving with this vibrant team as we address the needs of our community and elevate the voices of our most underserved community members.”

Here are the members of the Mayor’s Commission on LGBT Affairs:

Deja Lynn Alvarez, Trans Activist and Director, Divine Light LGBTQ Wellness Center

Chris Bartlett, Executive Director, William Way Community Center

Kimberley Brown-Flint, former WWCC Board member

Leonore Carpenter, LGBTQ civil rights attorney and Professor of Law, Temple University Beasley School of Law

Sharron Cooks, transgender activist, consultant and 2016 Democratic National Convention delegate

Francisco Cortes, Education Administrator, Galaie

Amanda Dougherty, lawyer and bisexual advocate

Jason D. Evans, community activist

Heath Fogg Davis, Professor of Political Science, Temple University

Soheila Gigi Nikpoue, LGBT Sports/Actively Assists Lesbian Asylum seekers

Kati ‘Jazz’ Gray-Sadle, LGBT Radio show host

Kae Greenberg, Assistant Public Defender, Public Defenders Association

Stephanie Haynes, Executive Director, Philadelphia Family Pride

Deborah Johnson, Visitor Services Manager, African America Museum of Philadelphia

Jeffrey Jordan, Pastor, Metropolitan Community Church

Malcolm Kenyatta, Member Engagement Coordinator, Chamber of Commerce

Anthony Leon, Youth Education Manager, Mazzoni

Barrett Marshall, Attorney/LGBTQ legal services expert

Libby Peters, Rowing Coach, University of Pennsylvania

Bianca Pichardo, Latinx Activist, Galaei Board member

Raquel E. Saraswati, Muslim LGBT activist/writer

Evan Urbania, Chief Executive Officer, Chatterblast

Yoshiaki Yamasaki, Executive Director, Health Care/The Philadelphia AIDS Consortium