More Events:

April 25, 2018

Your ultimate guide to free outdoor movie screenings in Philly

This list will be updated as more summer movie series are announced

Movies Screenings
Movies in Clark Park Courtesy of University City District/PhillyVoice

Enjoy a free movie screening outdoors.

With warm weather comes another season of free outdoor movie screenings in Philadelphia.

Parks, beer gardens and other outdoor spaces will turn into theaters, showing a mix of classics, recent releases, family-friendly favorites and Oscar-winners.

Below is your go-to guide for what's screening where and when. It will be updated frequently as more summer movie series are announced.

Movie Nights at The Schmidt's Commons

The Schmidt's Commons in Northern Liberties will host movie night on Thursdays this spring and summer.

Each month, there will be a superhero movie and a movie musical, as well as new releases and nostalgic hits.

Remember to bring a chair to enjoy the show. Screenings begin at 7 p.m.

Thursday, May 3 – "Star Wars: The Last Jedi"
Thursday, May 10 – "The Shape of Water"
Thursday, May 17 – "Singin' in the Rain"
Thursday, May 24 – "Thor: Ragnarok"
Thursday, June 7 – "The Greatest Showman"
Thursday, June 14 – "Casablanca"
Thursday, June 21 – "Pitch Perfect 3"
Thursday, June 28 – "Spider-Man: Homecoming"


King of Prussia's Town Center Movie Nights

On select Thursday evenings, you'll be able to watch a movie at the King of Prussia Town Center. Remember to bring a blanket or a lawn chair. Screenings start at 8 p.m.

Thursday, May 17 – "Coco"
Thursday, May 31 – "Wonder"
Thursday, June 21 – "Beauty & The Beast" (2017)
Thursday, June 28 – "Grease"
Thursday, July 19 – "Up"
Thursday, July 26 – "Jurassic Park"
Thursday, Aug. 23 – "Little Giants"


Louis Bluver Outdoor Movie Series

Beginning in June, La Peg will screen movies in its beer garden beneath the Ben Franklin Bridge. Movies will begin at 8:30 p.m.

Each film will be paired with a special cocktail ($10), which can be purchased at the outdoor bar.

In addition, chef-owner Peter Woolsey and his team will offer a summery menu of char-grilled burgers and other seasonal staples perfect for enjoying al fresco before, during or after each screening.

Wednesday, June 6 – "Ferris Bueller’s Day Off"
Paired with The Reverse Ferrari – watermelon-cucumber lemonade with vodka

Wednesday, June 13 – "Can’t Hardly Wait"
Paired with Jungle Juice – vodka and rum with lime, triple sec, curacao and cranberry juice

Wednesday, June 20 – "Mean Girls"
Paired with “On Wednesdays, We Drink Pink” Cosmos – vodka with cranberry and lime juices and triple sec

Wednesday, June 27 – "10 Things I Hate About You"
Paired with She Kissed Me in the Car – tequila with blood orange, lime and triple sec

Wednesday, July 11 – "Men in Black"
Paired with The Neuralyzer – vodka, with Kahlua and soda

Wednesday, July 18 – "Con Air"
Paired with The Mullet – gin with blackberry puree, lemon and soda

Wednesday, July 25 – "The Fifth Element"
Paired with Ruby Red Rod – vodka with grapefruit juice and grenadine

Wednesday, Aug. 1 – "Moonrise Kingdom"
Paired with The Black Beacon Storm – Gosling’s Rum with ginger beer and lime

Wednesday, Aug. 8 – "The Parent Trap"
Paired with Blonde Redhead – Aperol with sparkling wine and soda

Wednesday, Aug. 15 – "Wet Hot American Summer"
Paired with Bug Juice – rum with pineapple, orange and cranberry juices and fresh lime


Movie Nights on the Schuylkill Banks

This movie series will run from June 7 through Aug. 9. Some movies will be screened by the Walnut Street Bridge, while others will be screened by Wharton Street.

Remember to bring a blanket or chair.

Thursday, June 7 – "Beetlejuice"
Thursday, June 14 – "Going in Style"
Thursday, June 21 – "Ferris Bueller's Day Off"
Thursday, June 28 – "The Fifth Element"
Thursday, July 12 – "Casablanca"
Thursday, July 19 – "Coco"
Thursday, July 26 – "Moana"
Thursday, Aug. 2 – "Black Panther"
Thursday, Aug. 9 – "Silver Linings Playbook"


Moonlight Movies

Head to Mt. Airy for family-friendly flicks this summer. Remember to bring a blanket or chair.

Friday, June 8 – "Big Hero 6" at Lovett Park (6945 Germantown Avenue)
Saturday, June 9 – "Queen of Katwe" at Trolley Car Diner (7619 Germantown Avenue)
Friday, June 15 – "Coraline" at Lovett Park
Saturday, June 23 – "Rio" at Trolley Car Diner
Friday, June 29 – "A Wrinkle in Time" at Pleasant Playground (6757 Chew Avenue)
Saturday, July 7 – "Kung Fu Panda" at Trolley Car Diner
Friday, July 13 – "Coco" at Pleasant Playground
Saturday, July 21 – "Hugo" at Trolley Car Diner
Friday, July 27 – "Ratatouille" at New Covenant Campus (7500 Germantown Avenue)
Saturday, Aug. 4 – "Ferdinand" at Trolley Car Diner
Friday Aug. 10 – "Black Panther" at New Covenant Campus
Saturday, Aug. 18 – "The Princess and the Frog" at Trolley Car Diner


Screenings Under the Stars at Penn's Landing

Head to the Great Plaza at Penn's Landing to watch a free movie. Movies start at dusk, which is approximately 8:30 p.m. in July and 8 p.m. in August.

Thursday, July 5 – "Justice League"
Thursday, July 12 – "Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" 
Thursday, July 19 – "Mission Impossible III"
Thursday, July 26 – "Star Wars: The Last Jedi" 
Thursday, Aug. 2 – "Austin Powers In Goldmember"
Thursday, Aug. 9 – "Black Panther"
Thursday, Aug. 16 "– A Wrinkle In Time"
Thursday, Aug. 23 – "Coco"
Thursday, Aug. 30 – "Despicable Me 3"


Pictures in the Park

Dilworth Park outside City Hall will host outdoor movie nights at 8:30 p.m. this summer. If you get there early, you can join in spoiler-free movie trivia and enjoy the movie soundtrack.

Friday, July 20 – "Star Wars: The Last Jedi"
Friday, July 27 – "A Wrinkle in Time"
Friday, Aug. 3 – "Black Panther"
Friday, Aug. 10 – "Ready Player One"
Friday, Aug. 17 – "The Greatest Showman"
Friday, Aug. 24 "Wonder Woman"


Movies in Clark Park

Bring chairs or blankets to enjoy a free movie in University City this August. Screenings will begin at 8 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 10 – "Back to the Future"
Friday, Aug. 17 – "Coco"
Friday, Aug. 24 – "A Wrinkle in Time"
Friday, Aug. 31 – "Black Panther"


Movies in the Park Program

Thursday, June 21 – "Black Panther" at Loudoun Park
Tuesday, July 10 – "Coco" at Penn Treaty
Saturday, July 14 – "Black Panther" at Overington Park
Wednesday, July 25 – "Coco" at Mifflin Square Park
Friday, Aug. 3 – TBD at Cliveden Park 
Friday, Aug. 3 – "A Bug's Life" at Pleasant Hill Park
Saturday, Aug. 4 – "Iron Man 2" at Rainbow de Colores 
Wednesday, Aug. 8 – "
Moana" at Fisher Park 
Saturday, Aug. 11 – "Avengers: Infinity War" at Hunting Park
Thursday, Aug. 16 – "Zootopia" at Inn Yard Park
Friday, Aug. 17 – "Inside Out" at Pennypack Park 
Saturday, Aug. 18 – "Black Panther" at  Triangle Park 
Thursday, Aug. 23 – "Black Panther" at Hart
Saturday, Aug. 25 – "Coco" at Benson Park      
Friday, Sept. 7 – "Coco" at Powers Park
  
Saturday, Sept. 8 – "Coco" at Shot Tower Park
Friday, Sept. 14 – "Solo, A Star Wars Story" at Coxe Park