More Culture:

May 01, 2018

Delco native Tina Fey nominated for Tony Award

'Mean Girls' on Broadway was recognized in 12 categories

Tina Fey has officially been Tony Award nominated in the Best Book of a Musical category for her newest project, “Mean Girls,” that hit the Broadway stage in April.

Fey, who grew up in Upper Darby, wrote the original screenplay for the 2004 film “Mean Girls" that dominated box offices. Since then it has developed a cult-like following and earned a reputation as one of the most quotable millennial movies of all time.


Here’s a list of the 40 best "Mean Girls" quotes, just because it feels right.

Anyway — the musical got 12 nominations, tied for the most this year with “SpongeBob SquarePants: The Musical.”

“We are honestly too excited and too proud of our ensemble to make a joke about this," Fey told Playbill following the May 1 announcement. "We are so grateful to be embraced by the Broadway community in this way and that we get to work together twenty-five hours a day with the same amount of excitement as our young cast. This is new for all of us."

Fey graduated from Upper Darby High School in Delaware County and hasn’t shied away from letting her Philly roots show over the years. She has perfected a Philly accent on SNL's "Weekend Update." And remember that time she had a showdown with Bostonians before the 2018 Super Bowl?

Oh, and in case anyone forgot: The Philadelphia Eagles are the 2018 Super Bowl champions. Just our friendly reminder.


The 72nd annual Tony Awards will take place June 10. Josh Groban and Sara Bareilles will be the hosts.

Here’s a full list of the “Mean Girls” nominations:

• Best Musical
• Best Book of a Musical — Tina Fey
• Best Original Score (Musical and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre — Jeff Richmond and Nell Benjamin
• Best performance by an actress in a leading role — Taylor Louderman
• Best performance by an actor in a featured role — Grey Henson
• Best performance by an actress in a featured role — Ashley Park
• Best costume design of a musical — Gregg Barnes
• Best sound design of a musical — Brian Ronan
• Best direction of a musical — Casey Nicholaw
• Best choreography — Casey Nicholaw
• Best orchestrations — John Clancy