More Culture:

April 22, 2015

Cannes Film Festival jury announced

Includes Jake Gyllenhaal, the Coen brothers, among other stars

The jury for the 68th annual Festival de Cannes, arguably the most prestigious film festival in the world, is set.

They will decide which films are submitted for this year's competition, as well as the winners. The Americans on this year's jury include actor Jake Gyllenhaal and brothers Joel and Ethan Coen, who've worked together as directors, writers and producers on several critically acclaimed films. 

The Coen brothers have been nominated for and won several awards at previous Cannes Festivals. Most recently, their 2013 film Inside Llewyn Davis won the Grand Prix prize, which is the second-most prestigious award at the festival. 

British Actress Sienna Miller, who recently starred in the Oscar-nominated war film American Sniper joins the jury along with Mexican director and producer Guillermo Del Toro. Del Torro's first feature film in 1993, the horror flick Cronos, was presented in a parallel section of the festival that year. 

Rounding out the jury is Spanish actress Rossy de Palma, Malian composer Rokia Traoré, French director and actress Sophie Marceau, and Canadian actor, producer, writer and director Xavier Dolan. This year's festival is set for May 13-24.