More Sports:

December 10, 2017

Eagles clinch NFC East title

The Philadelphia Eagles are NFC East champions for the first time since 2013.

Heading into Week 14 of the NFL schedule, for the Eagles not to win the division, they would have had to lose their four remaining games, with the Dallas Cowboys winning their four remaining games. With the Eagles' 43-35 win over the Los Angeles Rams, the Eagles have clinched the division.

 NFC EastRecord Div record Conf record 
x - Eagles11-2 4-0 9-1 
 Cowboys7-6 4-1 6-4 
 Redskins5-8 1-4 4-6 
 Giants2-11 0-4 0-9 

x - clinched division

The win was overshadowed, however, by the potentially serious left knee injury to QB Carson Wentz

A week ago, Doug Pederson said that winning the NFC East was nice, but the team had much bigger aspirations.

"Obviously it’s one of our goals to win the NFC East, but the bigger message is that you’re still playing and fighting for home field, you’re fighting for that first round bye, if possible, and there’s a lot of things that you’re playing for," he said. "Even though you’ve checked the box for your first goal, it’s great, love it, but the Eagles also won a bunch of NFC East titles when I was here too. We’re proud. It’s obviously a tribute to our players, but there’s something bigger out there that we strive for."

At 11-2, the Eagles presently have a share of the best record in the NFL, and a game lead for home field advantage over the 10-3 Minnesota Vikings in the NFC. 

The last time a team repeated as NFC East division winners was when the Eagles did it in 2004. In each of the last 13 seasons, we've seen the previous year's division champion dethroned.

 YearNFC East Champion 

The Eagles will try to end that trend in 2018.

Follow Jimmy on Twitter: @JimmyKempski.

Like Jimmy on Facebook.

Like the new PhillyVoice Sports page on Facebook.