More News:

November 06, 2023

In N.J.'s 3rd District, state Sen. Ed Durr fails to win second term during election night dominated by incumbents

John Burzichelli returns the seat to the Democrats, while two other Dems hold narrow leads in the district's State Assembly election. Get all of Tuesday's results from South Jersey below

New Jersey's entire legislature is up for election on Tuesday, as incumbents and challengers battle it out for all 120 seats in the state senate and General Assembly.

2023 ELECTION RESULTS: Cherelle Parker wins, becomes Philly's 100th mayor and first woman to lead city

Each of the state's legislative districts is represented by one senator and two assembly members, meaning anyone heading to the polls on Nov. 7 will vote for three representatives. Here's more info on the races in the nine districts representing South Jersey, including every candidate in the running. Before you vote, make sure to double check your district — the legislative map was redrawn this year, slightly altering the boundaries of New Jersey's 40 districts.

Winners of the elections below are projections by the Associated Press, and all results are unofficial until certified by the New Jersey Division of Elections.

N.J. Legislature District 1

New Jersey's 1st Legislative District represents all of Cape May County, and parts of Cumberland and Atlantic counties. Sen. Michael Testa Jr., another Republican, is running for reelection against Democratic newcomer Charles Laspata.

Assemblymen Antwan McClellan and Erik Simonsen, who are both Republican, will face challenges from Democrats Eddie Bonner and Damita White-Morris.

N.J. Legislature District 2

The state's Second District is also currently Republican-held, and spans much of Atlantic County. Caren Fitzpatrick, the two-term Democratic Atlantic City commissioner, and Shawn Peck, a Libertarian mortgage lender, aim to unseat Sen. Vincent Polistina.

On the Assembly side, incumbents Claire Swift and Donald Guardian are up against Democratic candidates Lisa Bender and Alphonso Harrell.

N.J. Legislature District 3

New Jersey's 3rd District covers parts of Cumberland and Gloucester counties and all of Salem County.

When Sen. Ed Durr, a truck driver who had never held elected office, mounted a 2021 campaign against Stephen Sweeney, the long-time Democratic state Senate president, few expected him to win. But in a major upset, the Republican candidate edged out the incumbent. He will now defend his seat from Democratic challenger John Burzichelli, a former state assemblyman.

Thomas Tedesco Jr., a Republican, is seeking the seat vacated by Beth Sawyer, while Assemblywoman Bethanne McCarthy Patrick, another Republican, is seeking reelection. They will face Heather Simmons and Dave Bailey Jr.

N.J. Legislature District 4

Currently Democrat-held, New Jersey's 4th Legislative District represents parts of Camden and Gloucester counties. Sen. Fred Madden announced his retirement this spring after 20 years in office, leaving the state senate race wide open. It includes Democratic candidate Paul Moriarty, Republican candidate Christopher Del Borrello and third-party Conservative candidate Giuseppe Costanzo, whom some regard as a "phantom candidate."

The assembly race also is a free-for-all, featuring Democrats Dan Hutchison and Cody Miller, Republicans Matthew Walker and Amanda Esposito and Conservative Maureen Dukes Penrose.

N.J. Legislature District 5

The state's 5th District includes sections of Camden and Gloucester counties. Sen. Nilsa Cruz-Perez, a Democrat, will defend her seat against Republican candidate Clyde Cook and third-party Rights Tranquility Peace candidate Mohammad Kabir.

Assemblymen William Spearman and William Moen Jr., the incumbent Democrats, will face off against Republican challengers Joe Miller and Yalinda Pagan.

N.J. Legislature District 6

Stretching across parts of Burlington and Camden counties, the 6th legislative district was run by Democrats headed into Tuesday's election. Sen. James Beach, the assistant majority leader, will seek reelection against Republican challenger Mark Doogan.

On the Assembly side, Republican candidates Brian McRory and Danielle Barry will attempt to unseat Louis Greenwald and Pamela Lampitt.

N.J. Legislature District 7

New Jersey's 7th Legislative District spans a sliver of Burlington County. Sen. Troy Singleton, the Democratic incumbent, is running against Republican James Fazzone, the former mayor of Burlington City.

Herb Conaway Jr. and Carol Murphy, both Democrats, are also seeking new terms on the Assembly. They'll face Republicans Douglas Dillon and Eileen Bleistine

N.J. Legislature District 8

The state senate race for New Jersey's 8th Legislative District is anyone's game, since one-term Sen. Jean Stanfield announced she wouldn't run for reelection. Seeking her seat are Latham Tiver, a Republican, and Gaye Burton, a Democrat.

Assemblymen Brandon Umba and Michael Torrissi Jr., both Republicans, will face challenges from Democratic candidates Andrea Katz and Anthony Angelozzi.

N.J. Legislature District 9

With the exit of Sen. Christopher Connors, who succeeded his father Leonard Connors, voters in the state's 9th District will elect its first senator outside the Connors family tree since 1981. Republican candidate Carmen Amato Jr. and Democratic candidate Gabriel Franco will vie for the position.

Assemblyman Brian Rumpf, a Republican, is the lone incumbent seeking reelection. The other candidates in that race include Democrats Joseph Atura and Sarah Collins and Republican Gregory Myhre. The district represents parts of Atlantic, Bergen and Ocean counties.

Follow Kristin & PhillyVoice on Twitter: @kristin_hunt | @thePhillyVoice
Like us on Facebook: PhillyVoice
Have a news tip? Let us know.