More Sports:

June 03, 2015

N.J. Surfing Hall of Fame to induct first class

Nonprofit says 35 will be enshrined

Surfing Hall of Fame

Professional surfer Dean Randazzo of New Jersey cuts back on a wave during the freestyle event of the Rip Curl Pro Super Series surfing tournament, off Seignerosse, southwestern France, Sunday, Aug. 28, 2005.

The Garden State has a surfing history as deep as the sea, and this weekend, it will honor its treasured talent with the induction of the first New Jersey Surfing Hall of Fame class.

Thirty-five male and female surfers with Jersey Shore roots will become a part of the state's surfing history, including surfers who will be grandfathered in because of their current status as East Coast Surfing Hall of Famers, the Asbury Park Press reports. 

Those inductees include Dick Meseroll, Bals Bill Yerkes, Charlie Keller, Jim Philips, Sam Reid, Barbie Belyea, Janice Demorski Demetroplis, Cecil Lear, Henry Stretch Pohl, John "Bull" Carey, Dean Randazzo, Dan Heritage, Ron Dimenna, Linda Davoli, George Gerlach and Richard Lisiewski.

The remaining honorees include Ray Hallgreen, Greg "Grog" Mesanko, Bill Devereax, Jack Homer, Gary Germain, Ron Curcio, Carl "Tinker" West, Kim Fioriglio, Regan Quail, Les Reitman, Vince Troniec, Jim "J.J." Jefferey, Tom Eadon, Mike "Monk" Monroe, Allen Wolf, Chuck Allison, Bob Simon and Steve Adeskavitz.

The goal of the New Jersey Surfing Hall of Fame, a formally recognized nonprofit, is to highlight the achievements of local surfers and act as stewards of the sea. In addition, the organization will aim to preserve the Tuckerton Seaport, where the names of the honorees will be enshrined in a special surfing section, according to the Asbury Park Press.

The inaugural induction will take place at the Algonquin Arts Theatre in Manasquan on Saturday, June 6, at 5 p.m. The public is invited to attend the festivities. 

Read more on the event and the organization at the Asbury Park Press.