More News:

May 06, 2016

'Upskirting' is now a crime in New Jersey

Gov. Christie signs bill banning surreptitious recordings

Laws Privacy
Camera Phone AP Photo Stock/.


Sorry, creeps: The practice of "upskirting," or recording under a person's undergarments without their knowledge, is now a criminal offense in New Jersey.

Gov. Chris Christie signed A-156 into law Thursday. Now, the act of "photographing, filming, publishing and sharing the image of the clothed intimate parts of another person without consent" is illegal. Recording "upskirt" images or videos is considered a fourth-degree crime. The publishing or sharing of such images is a third-degree crime.

“A voyeur can snap a cell phone picture of an unsuspecting victim in seconds and share it online to the entire world," said state Sen. Thomas Kean Jr., R-Union, one of the bill's primary sponsors. "This new law will provide a strong deterrent to prevent this abhorrent activity.”

Under the law, snapping a photo or video can carry an 18-month prison sentence and a $10,000 fine. Sharing the recordings can land someone a three-to-five-year sentence and a $15,000 fine.