More News:

November 03, 2015

Democrats grab both seats in South Jersey's 1st Legislative District

Democratic challenger Bruce Land ousts incumbent Republican Sam Fiocchi

Election 2015 State Assembly
11032015_bruce_land_FB Bruce Land/Facebook

Challenger Bruce Land, right, will join fellow Democrat and incumbent Bob Andrzejczak, left, in the General Assembly.

Democrats seized both seats in the 1st Legislative District in Tuesday's general election as challenger Bruce Land will join incumbent Bob Andrzejczak in the General Assembly. Voters rejected Republican incumbent Samuel Fiocchi's bid for re-election.

In District 2, the incumbents – Democrat Vincent Mazzeo and Republican Chris Brown – were re-elected to their seats in the Assembly.

In District 3, Democratic incumbents John Burzichelli and Adam Taliaferro won re-election.

In District 4, Democratic incumbents Paul Moriarty and Gabriela Mosquera were re-elected.

In District 5, Democrats Patricia Egan Jones and Arthur Barclay won election.

In District 6, Democratic incumbents Louis Greenwald and Pamela Lampitt were re-elected.

In District 7, Democratic incumbents Herbert Conaway Jr. and Troy Singleton won re-election.

In District 9, Republican incumbents Brian Rumpf and DiAnne Gove won re-election easily.

In the central part of the state, the major news was in the 11th District, where two Republican incumbent assemblywomen were defeated by their Democratic challengers in Monmouth County. In the tightest of races, Eric Houghtaling and Joann Downey won seats in a major upset of incumbents Mary Pat Angelini and Caroline Casagrande.